Alibris Customer Service

February 4, 2008

I tried to place an order with Alibris last week. The site wouldn’t take my credit card, although Alibris had taken it before. The billing info is correct. I have had no issues using my card with other merchants during the past week, brick and mortar or online.

This is a transcript of my dealings with their customer “service”

Subject
Credit Card
 Discussion Thread
 Response (<!– name withheld to protect the allegedly innocent –>) 02/04/2008 04:17 AM
Hello,Thank you for writing back.I am sorry that you are still having difficulty ordering on our site and for any frustration this has caused.At this time, we are only able to accept payment by credit card. Several aspects of your account profile are verified during this authorization.Please ensure that the following are correct:

Billing address (It must exactly match the address on your credit card statement.)
Name as it appears on your card
Expiration date

If you have any further questions, please contact your credit card provider.

Thank you for shopping with Alibris.

Best regards,
<!– name withheld to protect the allegedly innocent –>
Alibris Client Services

Do you know you can sell books on Alibris?
Learn how to turn your unwanted books into treasures!

Alibris connects you to thousands of independent
book, music, and movie sellers around the world.
With over 60 million used, new, and hard-to-find
titles, we have what you’re looking for!

 Customer (Thomas Fowler) 01/30/2008 06:50 PM
Site: www.alibris.com
I believe that my credit card on file is valid, but the site does not allow me to place an order.
 Auto-Response 01/30/2008 06:50 PM
Hello from Alibris,Thank you for contacting us. We have received your message via our Web site. As Alibris is in the midst of its winter back-to-school season, our customer inquiries are becoming more and more frequent. We’re working as fast as we can, and ask for your patience if our response is delayed. Your message will be read and responded to in the order it was received. If you have any updates to your issue that you wish to inform us about, please reply back to this message without changing the subject line and your update will be added to our records. Thank you for shopping with Alibris.
 Question Reference #xxx
Date Created:  01/30/2008 06:50 PM
Last Updated:  02/04/2008 04:17 AM

According to this, I have to take up the issue with my credit card provider if I have confirmed that my billing address is OK. I have confirmed that my billing address is OK, and my credit card is good, so what is left?

I’m not going to go back and forth, etc to get this resolved. There are other booksellers out there, so ta ta to Alibris.

Leave a Reply

