78s archives update, or unlimited != unlimited

August 25, 2008

It’s been a few days since I tried the site http://78records.cdbpdx.com/, which Yahoo! had taken down, allowed up again, then took down again. Here’s the notice on the site:

Hello, Everyone. My web host provider (Yahoo) shut down my web site because of high volumes of data transfer. Apparently, several folks, thousands each day, were downloading the entire music library, which is over 10 gigabytes, and that was placing a strain on their servers. My web hosting program offers Unlimited Data Transfer, but the amount of data being transfered was greater than the unlimited amount I was alotted so they shut it down. After much negotiation with the Yahoo techs and management, the only option available to get my domain up again was to not allow anyone to download stuff from my domain.

The music files are still there, but I am not allowed to grant access to anyone as they might start downloading again and that will result in my web site and domain being permanently shut down. I was very close to that already, so this option at least got my domain up again.EMAIL ME with the 10 songs you’d most like to hear from the list and I will try to post them. I don’t know if this is going to be a reasonable thing to do, but I’ll give it a shot. Maybe if I just do 10 songs at a time, Yahoo won’t be so overwhelmed. Maybe post these songs for a week or so a time..?? Then rotate to another group of 10.

OK, now if some persons managed to download the entire archive, are they mirroring it anywhere? They’re greedy, but can’t Yahoo! throttle the transfer rate? If not, there’s always BitTorrent, put the archive up in thematically divided chunks, like “blues” or “big band.”

Interesting point: “My web hosting program offers Unlimited Data Transfer, but the amount of data being transfered was greater than the unlimited amount I was alotted so they shut it down.”  Is there any fine print as to what “unlimited” means?

Leave a Reply

